La la Land

423 E Emerald Ave 034  Tennessee weather made a name for itself this February with ic423 E Emerald Ave 001e storms, frigid temperatures and four snowfalls in eleven days.  For a bad weather pattern to last so long is unusual in our area. Not only do Southerners  not drive in snow real well, most don’t know how to handle being confined for days.

On Friday the 13th I had minor surgery done and came home right before the arctic blast took over our lives. Recovering my energy intertwined with being stuck in one place. I rested within the walls of my home as the rise and fall of the thermometer governed my life.

Most of us wish at some point we could stay at home for several days without being torn away by work, meetings or school. My time was now!  So many projects to work on–scanning photographs, finishing articles half written, small home improvements–and then check off my list!

Instead a strange inertia settled upon me, stuffing my head with cotton balls and adding more sleep to my life. I spent my days streaming favorite Netflix, acorn, and PBS shows. Thank goodness MASH is running now; such a nice, long series. Keeping up with current events meant keeping Facebook running 24/7. For exercise I played FreeCell, Mahjong Titans and Clash of the Clans.

Time floated  You would think it would pass slowly, but it actually seemed to speed up, particularly between three o’clock and seven. As I tried to figure that one out I realized I had no idea as to the day of the week. Every day became a Sunday, waiting for a Monday, which never comes. La la Land describes the situation pretty accurately.

Food took on an exaggerated importance. Liquids were all I could tolerate for over a week,423 E Emerald Ave 004 but once I realized I could eat chocolate by letting it melt in my mouth before swallowing it, I was ready for more substantial items. Jayne, my housemate, made her escape to the grocery store when there was a break in the weather (escape me? break from me?). The list I sent with her? OJ, Pringles, Hershey kisses and jelly beans with a request for Pinot Grigio if she made it to the wine shop.

Lest I  give the idea these free days were a total loss, I read and read and read some more. I experimented with my wardrobe, coordinating fuzzy socks with pajamas or sweat pants. I got my income tax done, called my brother and enjoyed a play and dinner out with friends.

423 E Emerald Ave 002I mentioned in my last post that February is not my favorite month and it just gave me more good reasons to keep it in that spot.  But, hey…the sky is blue today and the calendar gets turned after tomorrow!

Published by Judytwiga

I am a freelance writer and photographer who enjoys living close to the action in Knoxville, Tennessee. In the 1980s I created and published Zoo Connections, an international networking publication for non-animal zoo departments. Jobs over the years include working with the developmentally disabled, night front desk at a motel, assistant in development and membership at the NC Zoological Society, Customer Relations manager at Regal Entertainment Group, census enumerator, concessions at University of Tennessee, house cleaner, substitute teacher, sitter for children, houses, and pets. Freelance work at Knoxville News Sentinel and KnoxZine. Contributor to A Knoxville Christmas (2008,2007), and articles for the North Carolina Zoo website. Interested in anything except humorless people and politics. Enjoy reading, Scrabble, Catan, camping. I hold dear family (human and animal), friends, Kenya, Sunset Beach, NC and the Keys.

One thought on “La la Land

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.